Buying a car - how do you bargain?

Brunette Cutie

I am trying to buy a new car, and Consumer Reports gave this advice that you have to bargain. I have no experience with buying cars, but I don't want to lose money. Consumer Reports article was saying how you have to start with the "dealer holdback" (CR wants you to PAY for getting that price from them) and then work your way up, not worrying about the dealer and the manufacturer price that the price tags are showing. I'm not sure what would be the best way to do this bargaining. How do I start? Is it worth it?

I am looking into purchasing Honda CRV or a Toyota RAV-4 and both are top vehicles, so I am hesitant to bargain because the dealer can just say "well, sorry I can't sell it to you for that price, good bye...." and then what am I going to do?

Please help!

Manny

One of the best things to do, which ive seen it done many times, is give the dealer your price and be ready to walk away. Always keep in mind that they want to sell the car. Dont go too low or theyll feel offended and they wont go down. Offer something reasonable and work on it. If they refuse, be ready to walk away and be sure to give the dealer something like your number and say that if he/she doesnt sell it to get back to you.

Huba

Rookie
Member of COSTCO? They'll give you a fairly decent price without the hassle. Bought our last Toyota using the Internet. Paid $99 over dealer invoice (use kbb.com to get that first)which I know is higher than their actual cost because they get a kickback from the maker but they have to make something; they aren't non-profits.

Be prepared to walk out. Don't get new car fever and settle for whatever they offer you. Also, most importantly, shop for financing before you go. Get pre-approved at a credit union for an amount and when you talk to the deal, tell him it's a cash deal. Some CU's will even give you a check "Valid up to $XX,XXX" and all you do is fill in the blanks.